我们的专业团队


Ian Teo 张轲崴

主任律师 (Managing Director)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

作为浩贤的创始律师之一,张律师是国际贸易和航运法领域的权威人物。

2019年,他成为新加坡法律协会任命的首批资深认证航运和海商法律专家之一。此外,他被 Euromoney Expert Guides 评为全球30位最佳航运律师之一。 2016年,Best Lawyers Singapore 将Ian评为年度最佳贸易律师。

张律师拥有新加坡以及英格兰和威尔士的执业资格,他在新加坡国立大学法学院学获得法学学士学位,并在剑桥大学获得法学硕士学位。Ian是新加坡管理大学法学院的兼职讲师,特许仲裁协会的会员,以及新加坡国立大学海商法中心的兼职成员,并在新加坡律师资格考试中获得 Tan Ah Tah 法官奖。他定期为学术界撰稿,并在《劳埃德海商法与商业季刊》(Lloyd’s Maritime & Commercial Quarterly) 上发表文章。

"航运和贸易争端方面的专家... (他)值得尊敬"
Chambers Global(钱伯斯全球)如是评价

"他对案件准备工作一丝不苟,他的辩护有效且有说服力"
Legal 500(法律500强)如是评价

"他对细节有着敏锐的洞察力,他的建议总是倍具商业价值"
Chambers Asia-Pacific(钱伯斯亚太)如是评价

 

More

Tang Chong Jun 董聪俊

执行主任 (Executive Director),
新加坡浩贤律师事务所;主任 (Managing Director),
香港董律师事务所

董律师是浩贤律师事务所和(香港)董律师事务所的创始人之一,专攻航运和贸易纠纷,以及商事咨询业务。

近期,董律师成功地代表一家马来西亚棕榈油生产商处理了两起价值数百万美元的北美自由贸易协定(GAFTA)仲裁案:以及一家美国贸易公司对一家中国公司提出的关于该中国公司拒绝交付玉米货物的索赔。他同样也参与了在“Apellis” [2018] Lloyds Law Reports Plus 11,以及 “Alas” [2015] 1 Lloyds Law Reports 211中所报道的案件。

董律师经常受邀在航运和海商法会议上发言,包括最近在哥本哈根举行的国际海事仲裁员大会,以及2017年在深圳举行的海商法研讨会暨“一带一路”国际海事法律与政策高端论坛。

董律师拥有在新加坡和香港的法律执业资格,是香港仲裁委(Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators)的资深会员和理事会成员(荣誉秘书)。

"回应非常迅速、友好和有帮助"
Legal 500(法律500强)如是评价

More

Maureen Poh 傅美瑜

主管律师 (Director)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Maureen的执业范围涵盖航运和商贸领域,包括诉讼业务和咨询服务。

她在与能源相关的航运和大宗商品案件方面拥有丰富的经验,例如原油和液化天然气的运输和承购合同。Maureen代表船东参与了香港海上液化天然气码头项目中 “MOL FSRU Challenger”号租船合同的起草和谈判。

Maureen拥有新加坡、英格兰和威尔士的法律执业资格,是新加坡国立大学海商法中心的理事委员会成员(member of the Advisory Board of the NUS Centre for Maritime Law)。 她毕业于新加坡国立大学法学院,在成为律师之前,曾在新加坡外交部工作。

Maureen被Legal 500(法律500强)援引为 "租船合同纠纷、海上货物运输和货物索赔的关键人物",并因其 "主动、清晰、快速地分析具体要点 "而受到赞誉。

More

Lynette Koh 许玫萍

主管律师 (Director)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Lynette是公司及银行、金融法领域的专家。 Lynette 曾是两家大型国际银行的法务。在加入浩贤之前,她是瑞穗银行(Mizuho Bank)的法律和商业管理部门的总法务,负责新加坡和周边地区的商事银行业务。Lynette 对各行各业的融资需求和结构有着丰富的经验和专业知识。她曾接办过世界各地的主要大宗商品交易公司的各种商品和贸易融资交易。同时,Lynette 是少数在金融衍生品和结构性产品(包括 ISDA 文件)方面拥有专业知识的新加坡律师之一。

除了她的企业法务经验,Lynette还在新加坡最大的律师事务所之一担任过十年的诉讼律师,专门处理银行和融资纠纷、公司破产和债务重组等业务。

Lynette 作为国际银行的法务主管和诉讼律师的经历和视角,使她成为银行和金融非诉领域律师中的稀缺资源。

Lynette 是新加坡法律学会外派实习奖(Singapore Academy of Law Post-Qualification Overseas Attachment Award)的两位首届获奖者之一,该奖旨在让有资格的律师了解诉讼或者仲裁领域的最佳实务经验。她曾在伦敦与著名银行法御用大律师一起工作。

在空闲时间,Lynette 为新加坡聋人协会经营一家免费法律援助中心。

More

Matthew Teo 张熙安

副主管律师 (Associate Director)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Matthew 的职业生涯始于新加坡最大的律师事务所,专门处理银行和融资纠纷、公司破产、商事咨询、债务重组。在过去10年的航运和石油行业的低迷浪潮中,他几乎为所有与航运和石油相关的重大重组和破产案提供了咨询和服务。

除重组和破产外,Matthew 还擅长处理股东纠纷、合资纠纷、董事责任和劳务法 —— 包括诉讼以及针对策略和商务问题的咨询。Matthew 还经常就交易事项中的担保安排和破产风险提供咨询。

2017年,新加坡最高法院任命 Matthew 为青年法庭顾问(young amicus curiae)。在 Diablo Fortune 案中,他作为法庭青年顾问协助最高法院就租船合同中留置权的可登记性做出了里程碑式的裁决。

Matthew是新加坡管理大学第一批法学学士,以“最高学术荣誉” (summa cum laude) 毕业,并获得许多其他学术奖项。与许多律师不同的是,Matthew 同时精通财务报表,因为他还持有新加坡管理大学的商业管理(金融专业)学士学位。

More

Chen Zhida 陈志达

副主管律师 (Associate Director)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

陈律师的工作重心是国际贸易、贸易融资和航运业务(包括租船合同和提单纠纷)。他不仅经常在新加坡法院出庭,而且还在国际仲裁中担任出庭律师,包括特别仲裁和机构仲裁(包括LCIA、ICC、SIAC、HKIAC、AIAC)。

他还定期为客户提供非诉讼事项的咨询服务,范围从货物买卖合同、租船合同到联合国制裁。

由于精通普通话,他的专业知识深受包括国企和上市公司在内的中国客户的赞赏。

2019年,志达被新加坡最高法院任命为法庭青年顾问,该计划为年轻律师提供了协助新加坡法院处理新颖法律问题的机会。

志达曾任新加坡最高法院的大法官助理,在加入浩贤之前,他在新加坡“四大”之一的律师事务所从事航运和国际贸易业务。

志达曾获新加坡国立大学多项学术奖。他还拥有纽约大学国际法律研究的法律硕士学位。他自2014年起在新加坡国立大学法律系兼职任教,最近被聘为兼职助理教授,是新加坡国立大学法律系最年轻的教授之一。

More

Jonathan Tan 陈勇仁

副主管律师 (Associate Director)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

作为一名新锐航运和商贸律师,陈律师参与了多起航运和贸易公司破产的标志性案件。他务实且具有商业头脑,专注于寻找高效且有效的方案来解决客户的问题。

勇仁的业务主要集中在航运和国际贸易领域——包括纠纷和咨询服务——范围从商品贸易、贸易融资、信用证、货物索赔、租船、船舶买卖到抵押贷款的执行。

勇仁同样精通中文,他时常在法庭诉讼、仲裁和非诉讼事务中代表中国客户并为其提供咨询服务。

陈律师毕业于新加坡国立大学,并在一家航运和国际贸易领域杰出的新加坡法律事务所开始了他的职业生涯。

More

Eleanor Wong

顾问(特别项目)
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Eleanor 从事涉及极其复杂、跨领域、跨司法管辖区的纠纷和交易的特殊项目。她的职业生涯始于新加坡的商务部,负责起诉复杂的商业和证券欺诈案,这一角色为她赢得了全国性的声誉。在商务部工作后,她加入了国际律师事务所 Coudert Brothers 和 Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP,并成功地建立了国际金融交易业务。在那里,她主持了一些突破性的项目,如1997年亚洲金融危机后区域金融部门的极具挑战性的重组。2002年,她回到母校新加坡国立大学,担任法律系法律实务课程的主任。她也是该学院的国际模拟法庭计划的主管,目前担任法学院学生事务和全球关系副院长以及法律援助中心主任。

Eleanor是公认的法学教育领域的思想领袖,也是整整一代年轻律师的导师。她也是一位出色的剧作家。

More

Djakhongir Saidov

顾问
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Saidov 教授专攻国际商法,于2015年8月加入伦敦国王学院 Dickson Poon 法学院,担任商法教授。他的专长在于国际货物买卖法、国际商法文书、违约救济以及国际石油和天然气业务的法律。

作为 Helmsman 的顾问,他同时还是《LMCLQ国际海事和商法年鉴》中英国货物买卖法部分的主编,并且是新加坡国立大学海商法中心的学术研究员。

More

Cristina Bernasconi

顾问
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

自2004年以来,Cristina 一直专注于能源和大宗商品领域,她曾在一家大型瑞士能源企业、一家欧洲投资银行和一家石油天然气集团工作。她于2015年在伦敦成立了自己的法律咨询公司。

Cristina 精通意大利语、英语、德语、法语和西班牙语,在跨境交易方面拥有丰富的经验。

Cristina 拥有纽约和苏黎世律师资格,拥有苏黎世大学法学院学位和乔治华盛顿大学国际法法学硕士学位。

More

Peter Huang 黄培德

资深律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

培德是同届海商法新锐律师中的佼佼者,在学术和执业方面都有出色的表现。他擅长航运、贸易相关的纠纷解决业务,并在 SIAC、SCMA、LMAA、LCIA、ICC、CIETAC、AIAC 等规则下的仲裁中拥有丰富的经验。他还为其他法域的争议提供咨询,包括马来西亚、印度尼西亚、印度和菲律宾。

在新加坡国立大学,培德作为海商法第一名获颁 M.Karthigesu 法官金奖,以及新加坡海商法协会海上货物运输法奖。培德代表新加坡国立大学参加了2015年 Jean Pictet 模拟法庭辩论赛并脱颖而出,获得冠军。2016年他同样代表新加坡国立大学参加了国际海商法仲裁模拟法庭辩论赛,并获得优秀辩手第六名的佳绩。至今,培德仍在新加坡国立大学法学院担任模拟法庭教练。

培德的母语为中文,且精通英语,深谙中国文化和法律环境。在加入浩贤律师事务所之前,培德曾在一家领先的国际航运法律所担任律师,除了新加坡法律的执业资格外,他还获得了英国法律的执业资格。

More

Christopher Ong 王文荣

律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Christopher 毕业于新加坡管理大学,并以最高荣誉(Summa Cum Laude (With Highest Distinctin))获得法律学士学位。学习期间,他连续三年被列入院长荣誉名单 (Dean’s List),并获得了新加坡海商法协会颁发的海事海商法最佳学生奖。

Christopher 在一家领先的航运和国际贸易律师事务所完成了他的执业培训,并在此后不久加入浩贤。他拥有新加坡最高法院的执业资格。

More

Geoffroy Ygouf

律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Geoffroy 从事航运诉讼和争议解决方面的事务,专攻海上货物运输和国际贸易。

他的职业生涯始于伦敦的海事行业,在那里他加入了一家著名的海商法律所,为保险公司/再保险公司、经纪人和软商品领域的知名客户提供服务。他曾处理过多种事务,包括货物代位求偿、提单和租船合同纠纷。

Geoffroy 是英格兰和威尔士的执业律师,精通英语和法语。

他拥有法国法的法律学士学位、英国法的法律研究生文凭、泰国国立法政大学法律和政治学硕士学位(交流项目),以及南安普顿大学海商法法学硕士学位。

More

Wira Hakim

律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Wira 毕业于新加坡国立大学法学院,主要执业领域为航运和海商法。Wira对航运和商贸法律的各个方面都有深入的了解,他还曾供职于伦敦跨国法律研究中心,专门在全球视角和比较法视角研究贸易和海商法。他也是一名出色的运动员,曾参加过国家级的橄榄球比赛。除英语外,Wira 还能熟练掌握马来语和印度尼西亚语。

More

Kenneth Lim 林炜岳

律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Kenneth 毕业于新加坡国立大学法学院,曾任《新加坡法学研究》助理编辑。他还曾在 Sandra Booysen 博士关于银行零售产品不当销售的论文中担任助理。Kenneth 是一个模拟法庭辩论赛的出色辩手,曾代表新加坡国立大学参加了第16届维斯东部商业仲裁模拟法庭,并获得了最佳辩手的荣誉提名。此外,Kenneth 在新加坡律师职业资格考试的民事诉讼程序法中获得了特优荣誉 (Distinction) 。

More

Ahmad Noorfahmy

律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Fahmy 毕业于新加坡管理大学,以特优荣誉 (Magna Cum Laude (with great distinction)) 获得法律学士学位。Fahmy 在航运和商贸事务方面经验丰富,其中既包括诉讼也包括交易。他还在新加坡律师职业资格考试的进阶公司实务部分中获得了特优荣誉(Distinction)。Fahmy 精通双语,能说流利的马来语和英语。

More

Xu Jingchen 徐晶琛

律师
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

晶琛从事航运、国际贸易和破产相关的争议解决业务。

她毕业于美国杜兰大学,获得了海商法博士学位和法学硕士学位(with distinction)。在此之前,她从大连海事大学获得海事法学士学位。在杜兰大学,晶琛是杜兰海商法法律评论第 40-41 卷的高级编辑,也是 Robert Force 教授的研究助理。

晶琛是一位知识渊博的学者,并经常在国际知名期刊上发表文章。在加入浩贤之前,她是新加坡国立大学海商法研究中心的博士后研究员。她最新的论文“船舶扣押及韩进破产对船舶管理的借鉴意义”发表在由 Stephen Girvin 和 Vibe Ulfbect 编辑的《海事组织、管理和责任:对海事行业新挑战的法律分析(Hart Publishing 2021)》一书中。

她还独自完成并出版了专著:《贸易法委员会示范法制度下的海事跨境破产:英联邦和美国的观点》(Hart Publishing 2020),书中对海事与跨境破产制度产生的相关问题进行了深入讨论。此外,她在 American Bankruptcy Law Journal 和 Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce 等期刊上,发表论文探讨 OW Bunkers 破产引起的相关法律问题。

她曾在美国保赔协会和几家美国海商律师事务所工作。

晶琛拥有中国法律职业资格,并获得美国纽约州律师执照。她的母语是中文,英语流利。

More

Marisa Tse 謝佩佩

高级法律行政
新加坡浩贤律师事务所

Marisa 负责我们的业务拓展。她曾在亚太经济合作组织(APEC)的新加坡秘书处工作,担任项目主管,并曾在一家杰出的航运法律师事务所担任船舶融资方面的高级法律行政。

Marisa 精通粤语,于2010年获得昆士兰最高法院律师执照,并拥有昆士兰科技大学的法律和商业(会计)双学士学位。

More

Meet our lawyers


Ian Teo

Managing Director,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

One of the founding directors of Helmsman, Ian is an authority on commodity trading and shipping law.

In 2019, he became one of the first senior accredited shipping and maritime law specialists appointed by the Singapore Academy of Law. What’s more, he was recognised by Euromoney Expert Guides as one of the world's 30 Best of the Best Shipping Lawyers. In 2016, Best Lawyers Singapore named Ian as Trade Lawyer of the Year.

Qualified to practise in Singapore, England and Wales, Ian read law at the National University of Singapore (LL.B) and obtained his LL.M at Cambridge University. Awarded the Justice Tan Ah Tah Prize in his PLC class, Ian is a member of the adjunct faculty at the Singapore Management University, School of Law, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitration, and an Adjunct Fellow of the NUS Centre for Maritime Law. He contributes to academia regularly, and has published in Lloyd's Maritime & Commercial Quarterly.

"A specialist in shipping and trade disputes... (who) commands respect"
Chambers Global

"Meticulous in his case preparation, effective and persuasive in his advocacy"
Legal 500

"Keen eye for details and whose advice is always commercially sound"
Chambers Asia-Pacific

More

Tang Chong Jun

Executive Director, Helmsman LLC Singapore Managing Partner, Tang & Co, Hong Kong

A founding director of Helmsman and Tang & Co., Chong Jun specializes in shipping and commodities disputes as well as commercial advisory work.

Recently, Chong Jun successfully represented a Malaysian palm oil producer on two multi-million-dollar GAFTA arbitrations: and, an American trading corporation in its claim against a Chinese company for the latter’s failure and/or refusal to take delivery of corn shipments. He was also involved in “Apellis” [2018] Lloyds Law Reports Plus 11 and “Alas” [2015] 1 Lloyds Law Reports 211. 

Our executive director is regularly invited to speak at shipping and maritime law conferences, including at the recent International Congress of Maritime Arbitrators in Copenhagen, and the 2017 Shipping Law Seminar in Shenzhen on “One Belt One Road – International Shipping Law and Policy”.

Qualified to practise law in both Singapore and Hong Kong, he is a fellow and council member (Hon. Secretary) of the Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators.

"Very responsive, friendly and helpful"
Legal 500

More

Maureen Poh

Director,
Helmsman LLC, Singapore

Maureen’s practice spans the range of shipping and commodities trading work, both contentious and advisory. 

She has significant experience with energy-related shipping and commodity-related matters, such as the transportation and off-take contracts for crude oil and LNG. Maureen was involved in drafting and negotiating the charter of the “MOL FSRU Challenger” on behalf of shipowners for the Hong Kong Offshore LNG Terminal Project.  

Qualified to practise law in Singapore, England and Wales, Maureen sits on the advisory board of the NUS Centre for Maritime Law.  She read law at the National University of Singapore, and before becoming a lawyer, worked in the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Maureen was cited in Legal 500 as “a key name for charterparty disputes, carriage of goods by sea and cargo claims”, and complimented for being “proactive, clear and fast in analysing specific points”.

More

Lynette Koh

Director,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Lynette’s expertise is in corporate banking and finance law. Lynette was legal counsel at two large international banks. Just before joining Helmsman, she was Head of Legal and Business Administration at Mizuho Bank, Ltd., in charge of corporate banking business in Singapore and the region. Lynette has deep expertise in the funding needs and structures across a wide spectrum of industries. She has worked on the full range of commodities and trade financing transactions with major trading houses across the world. Lynette is one of few Singapore lawyers who also has expertise in derivatives and structured products, including ISDA documentation. 

Besides her corporate inhouse experience, Lynette also spent a decade as a litigator specialising in banking and financing disputes, corporate insolvencies and debt restructuring at one of the largest law firms in Singapore. 

Lynette’s perspectives and experience as Head of Legal at an international bank and as a dispute lawyer make her a rare commodity amongst transactional corporate banking and finance lawyers.

Lynette was one of the two inaugural recipients of the Singapore Academy of Law Post-Qualification Overseas Attachment Award – set up to expose deserving lawyers to the best practices in litigation or arbitration. She spent time in London working alongside renowned Queen's Counsels with established banking practices.   

In her free time, Lynette runs a free legal clinic at the Singapore Association for the Deaf.

More

Matthew Teo

Associate Director
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Matthew began his career in the largest legal practice in Singapore dedicated to banking and financing disputes, corporate insolvencies, business advisory, workouts and debt restructuring. He has advised and acted in practically all major shipping and oil-related restructurings and insolvencies in the past 10 years resulting from the downturn in the shipping and oil industry. 

Besides restructuring and insolvency, Matthew also specialises in shareholders’ disputes, directors’ duties and employment law - both contentious disputes, as well as advisory work on strategic and commercial issues. Matthew also routinely advises on security arrangements as well as insolvency risks on transactional matters.

Employment law is another area of Matthew’s specialisation. He often advises on restrictive covenants, contentious terminations of employment and non-contentious aspects such as drafting employment contracts and disciplinary policies.  Matthew acts regularly in employment disputes, and has been involved in high profile employment disputes in Singapore.

In 2017, the Supreme Court of Singapore appointed Matthew as amicus curiae under the prestigious Young Amicus Curiae Scheme. He assisted the Supreme Court as amicus curiae in a landmark decision on the registrability of contractual liens in charterparty contracts in the Diablo Fortune case. 

Matthew graduated summa cum laude amongst the pioneer batch of law students from the Singapore Management University, and was awarded a number of academic prizes during his time there. Unlike many lawyers, Matthew reads (and understands) financial statements as he also has a Bachelor of Business Management (Finance Major), from the Singapore Management University.

Matthew was cited in Legal 500 as a "highly rated lawyer". 

More

Chen Zhida

Associate Director,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Zhida’s main focus lies in international commodity trade, trade finance, and “dry” shipping work (including charterparty and bill of lading disputes). He not only regularly appears in the Singapore courts, but also acted as counsel in international arbitrations, both ad hoc and institutional (including LCIA, ICC, SIAC, HKIAC, AIAC). Zhida is qualified to practise law in Singapore and England and Wales.

He also regularly advises clients on non-contentious matters, ranging from commodity sale contracts and charterparties to UN sanctions.

Proficient in Mandarin, his expertise is much appreciated by Chinese traders, including state-owned enterprises and listed companies.

In 2019, Zhida was appointed amicus curiae under the prestigious Young Amicus Curiae Scheme, which provides young practitioners with the opportunity to assist the Singapore Courts on novel points of law.

A former Justices’ Law Clerk within the Supreme Court of Singapore, Zhida came to us from the shipping and international trade practice of a Singapore “Big Four” law firm.

Zhida was awarded a number of academic prizes from the National University of Singapore. He also has a Masters of Law in International Legal Studies from New York University. He has been teaching as an adjunct at the Faculty of Law of National University of Singapore since 2014, and has recently been appointed as an adjunct assistant professor, one of the youngest at the Faculty of Law of NUS.

More

Jonathan Tan

Associate Director,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

An up-and-coming shipping and commodities lawyer, Jonathan has been involved in several landmark cases arising from insolvency of shipping and trading companies. Pragmatic and commercially minded, he is focused on finding efficient and effective solutions to address clients’ concerns.

Jonathan’s practice is focused on shipping and international trade – both disputes and advisory – ranging from commodities trading, trade finance, documentary credits, cargo claims, charter parties, ship sale and purchase to mortgage enforcement.

Equally adept at Chinese, Jonathan has represented and advised Chinese clients in court proceedings, arbitrations and non-contentious matters.

He completed his undergraduate studies at the National University of Singapore, and began his career in a leading shipping and commodity law practice.

More

Eleanor Wong

Counsel (Special Projects),
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Eleanor works on special projects involving highly complex, multi-disciplinary, cross-jurisdictional disputes and transactions. She started her career with the Commercial Affairs Department in Singapore, prosecuting complex commercial and securities frauds, a role that gained her national prominence. After her stint with the Commercial Affairs Department, she  joined international law firms Coudert Brothers and Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP, where she  built a successful practice in international financial transactions. There, she helmed ground-breaking projects, such as challenging regional financial sector restructuring in the wake of the 1997 Asian financial crisis.  In 2002, she returned to her alma mater, the National University of Singapore, to launch the Law Faculty’s Legal Skills Programme as its Director. She is also Co-ordinator of the Faculty’s International Moots Programme, and currently serves as Vice Dean, Student Life & Global Relations and Director of the Centre for Pro Bono and Clinical Legal Education.

Eleanor is a recognised thought-leader in pedagogy and the mentor of a generation of young lawyers. She also happens to be an accomplished playwright.

More

Djakhongir Saidov

Consultant,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Professor Saidov specialises in international commercial law, having joined The Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London in August 2015 as Professor of Commercial Law. His expertise lies in the law of the international sale of goods, international commercial law instruments, remedies for breach of contract and law governing international oil and gas operations.

A consultant to Helmsman, he is the Editor of the English Sale of Goods Law section in the LMCLQ Yearbook of International Maritime and Commercial Law, and, an Academic Fellow at the Centre for Maritime Law in the National University of Singapore.

More

Cristina Bernasconi

Consultant,
Helmsman LLC, Singapore

Cristina has practised law in the energy and commodity sector since 2004 – at a major Swiss utility company, a European investment bank and an oil and gas conglomerate. She established her own legal consultancy firm in London in 2015.

Fluent in Italian, English, German, French and Spanish, Cristina has considerable experience in cross-border transactions.

Admitted to the New York and Zurich bars, Cristina holds a degree from Zurich University law school and an LLM in international law from George Washington University.

More

Peter Huang

Senior Associate,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Peter is one of the leading shipping juniors in his batch, with a stellar track record both academically and professionally. Specialising in shipping and trade related dispute resolution, he has extensive experience acting in arbitrations under the rules of SIAC, SCMA, LMAA, LCIA, ICC, CIETAC, AIAC. He also advises on disputes in other jurisdictions, including Malaysia, Indonesia, India, and the Philippines.

At the National University of Singapore, Peter was awarded the M. Karthigesu Memorial Gold Medal for top shipping student, as well as the Maritime Law Association of Singapore Prize in Carriage of Goods by Sea. Peter represented NUS in the 2015 Jean Pictet Mooting Competition and the 2016 International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot, emerging as the champion in the former, and the sixth overall speaker in the latter. Peter continues to coach mooting at NUS Law.

Peter is native Chinese and effectively bilingual, and deeply understands the Chinese culture and legal landscape. Before joining Helmsman, Peter worked as a solicitor in a leading international shipping firm, where he obtained qualification to practise English law, on top of his Singapore qualification. 

More

Christopher Ong

Associate,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Christopher graduated from Singapore Management University with a Bachelor of Laws - Summa Cum Laude (With Highest Distinction). While there, he was placed on the dean’s list for three consecutive years. He was also awarded the Maritime Law Association of Singapore Prize for the Top Student in Shipping & Admiralty Law.

Christopher completed his practice training period with a leading shipping and commodity law practice, and joined Helmsman shortly thereafter. He is an advocate and solicitor of the Supreme Court of Singapore.

More

Geoffroy Ygouf

Associate,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Geoffroy specialises in shipping litigation and dispute resolution, with a particular focus on carriage of goods by sea and international trade.

He began his career in the marine industry in London, where he joined a renowned maritime law firm acting for insurers/reinsurers, brokers and high-profile clients in soft commodities. While there he worked on a variety of matters including subrogated cargo recovery actions, bills of lading and charterparty disputes.

A qualified solicitor in England and Wales, Geoffroy is fluent in both English and French. 

He has a bachelor’s degree in French law, a graduate diploma in English law, a Master’s degree in Law and Political Sciences (exchange program) from Thammasat University, as well as a LLM in Maritime Law from the University of Southampton.

 

More

Wira Hakim

Associate,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Wira read law at the National University of Singapore, with a particular emphasis on shipping and maritime law. Wira brings with him in-depth knowledge of all facets of shipping and commodity trading law. Wira also spent time at the London Centre for Transnational Legal Studies where he researched various aspects of trade and maritime law at both global and comparative levels. He is an accomplished sportsman, having played competitive rugby at the national level. Apart from English, Wira is conversant and proficient in Malay and Bahasa Indonesia.

More

Kenneth Lim

Associate,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Kenneth read law at the National University of Singapore, where he was Assistant Editor for the Singapore Journal of Legal Studies. He was also Assistant to A/P Dr Sandra Booysen for her thesis on the mis-selling of bank retail products. Kenneth is an avid mooter. He represented NUS at the 16th Willem C. Vis East Commercial Arbitration Moot, where he was awarded an Honourable Mention for the Best Oral Advocate. Kenneth obtained a Distinction in Civil Procedure in Part B of the Singapore Bar Examinations.

More

Ahmad Noorfahmy

Associate,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Fahmy graduated from Singapore Management University with a Bachelor of Laws - Magna Cum Laude (with great distinction).  Fahmy is experienced in a wide-spectrum of shipping and commodity trading matters, both contentious and transactional. He was also awarded a Distinction for Advanced Corporate Practice in his Singapore Bar exams. Fahmy is effectively bilingual, fluent in Malay and English.

More

Xu Jingchen

Associate, Helmsman LLC Singapore

Jingchen specialises in shipping, international trade and insolvency related dispute resolution.

She obtained her PhD and LLM in Admiralty (with distinction) from Tulane University Law School in the United States. She obtained her LLB in Maritime Law from Dalian Maritime University. At Tulane, Jingchen was a Senior Editor for Volumes 40-41 of the Tulane Maritime Law Journal, and a research assistant to Professor Robert Force.

Jingchen is an accomplished scholar, whose work is frequently published. Before joining Helmsman, she was a postdoctoral fellow at Centre for Maritime Law, National University of Singapore.

She recently contributes a book chapter titled “Ship Arrest and the Hanjin Bankruptcy: Lessons for Ship Management” in the newly published book, Stephen Girvin and Vibe Ulfbeck (eds), Maritime Organisation, Management and Liability: A Legal Analysis of New Challenges in the Maritime Industry (Hart Publishing 2021).

Her another publication is a monograph, Maritime Cross-Border Insolvency under the UNCITRAL Model Law Regime: Commonwealth and US Perspectives (Hart Publishing 2020), which discusses the pressing issues of cross-border cases involving admiralty and bankruptcy law. In addition, her papers analysing issues arising from the bankruptcy of OW Bunkers have been published in the American Bankruptcy Law Journal and the Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce.

She has also worked with the American P & I Club and several US maritime law firms.

Jingchen is qualified to practice law in China, and is admitted to the New York Bar.  She is native Chinese and fluent in English

More

Marisa Tse

Senior Legal Executive,
Helmsman LLC Singapore

Marisa looks after our business development. She was previously employed by the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Secretariat in Singapore as a programme executive, and, leading shipping law practice where she was a senior legal executive in ship finance.

Also fluent in Cantonese, Marisa was admitted to the Supreme Court of Queensland in 2010, and holds a dual Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) degree from Queensland University of Technology.

More